Soft Chocolate Chip cookies and Baking as a Science Experiment

So, firstly, before we get into the goods…I’d like to say that were going to try to be a little more streamlined here at CFLM (Cure for Lackluster Motivation) Yeah, that’s right folks, were using acronyms now… does it work? or should we go back to the drawing board?

So, besides referring to myself as more than one person, and getting jiggy with acro’s, we here at CFLM are going to designate Friday be set aside for food related posts. I’m thinking we’ll (see how I did that?) call it Foodie Fridays. I’d love your opinion on this matter, feel free to write a comment.

I decided today would be a good day to start talking about baking as a science, and cooking as an art. There is a lot of truth to this, but as with all things Science-y, there is room for experimentation. In this world there are three kinds of people…Chewy/soft Cookie people, Crunchy Cookie people, and people who don’t like sweets..We know you sneak them..you can just admit it already! (Allen!!)

As with all science experiments there are going to be some disasters, some explosions, and maybe a little bit of chocolate smeared on your cheek. It really depends on what you are making…

Today I took the house staple, “Nestle Tollhouse Cookie Recipe” and experimented with it a bit, until I got the desired outcome. My desired outcome would be chewy and soft, because those are the kind of cookies I find the most scrumptious. I don’t like having to wait for my milk to soak into the cookie to make it edible, or having thousands of tiny crumbs shoot off and hit the person standing next to me in the eye as I bite…I’m assuming this has more to do with my awkward clumsy eating then any actual assimilation with Crunchy Cookies. I’m not knocking crunchy cookie eaters by any means. I realize it has its merit, however, I am just not talented enough to explore them.

Ok, So we have the basic cookie recipe that we all know and love, but I wanted it to be a little bit softer, and maybe even a little gooey inside. This is the Recipe that I made, and I’ll tell you what changes I made at the end.

     

 

   Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

                    Oven Temp- 350

 

 

 

 

Dry:

2 1/4 cup all-purpose Flour

1 tsp Baking soda

1 tsp salt

Wet:

1 cup (two sticks) of softened butter

1/4 cup granulated white sugar

1 1/4 cup brown Sugar

1 tsp Vanilla extract

1 large egg, and 2 egg yolks

2 cups semi-sweet chocolate morsels

1 cup of chopped nuts (optional)

Instructions:

Mix your dry ingredients, flour, baking soda, and salt, in a small bowl. Set aside. Next, in a large bowl cream softened butter, sugar, brown sugar, and vanilla until smooth and well mixed. Then add your first egg and mix until completely incorporated, adding in your egg yolks next and mixing them as well. Gradually add your dry ingredients to your wet ingredients. This should happen in about three additions of flour. Once you dough is complete, fold in chocolate chips and nuts as you desire. Drop by rounded tablespoons onto un-greased cookie sheet.

Bake for 9-11 minutes or until cookies are golden brown. Allow to cool on baking sheets for 2 minutes before transferring them to a wire rack to finish completely. (Something I often do is slightly – mine, and then allow them to finish cooking on the cookie sheets. My oven has a constant convection, and if left in too long my cookies tend to get too brown. Don’t worry, carry over cooking will help you out, and if done properly it ensures that your cookies stay nice and chewy!)

The changes I made:

Instead of 3/4 cup white sugar, and 3/4 cup brown sugar, I upped the brown sugar and decreased the white sugar. Brown sugar makes for a softer center.

Instead of 2 large eggs, I used 1 egg and 2 egg yolks. This allows you to get approximately the same amount of liquid, while adding a touch of richness and moisture with the Egg yolks.

I have also added crunchy peanut butter to this recipe during the creaming phase and made some peanut butter chocolate chip cookies. Pretty fantastic!

Subsequently, If you are interested in more crunchy cookies, you would increase the white sugar and egg white content. Baking is more like a science then cooking is, where virtually everything is open to the imagination, but that doesn’t mean that you as a baker/mad scientist can’t tweak a favorite recipe and see what happens! Good luck with your cookies, and I’ll see you tomorrow!

Question(s): How often do you tweak your own recipes to explore new possibilities?

1 Comment

Filed under Foodie Friday

One response to “Soft Chocolate Chip cookies and Baking as a Science Experiment

  1. Beth

    nice photos….can you please send me a care package with soft chewy cookies in it??

Leave a Reply

